Gem Co. map
Reading & References
Sharon McConnel,
Gem County Coordinator

First Gem County Officials

Governor Alexander signed the bill that created Gem County. Joe Tyler was State Representative and E. K. Hays was State Senator. The following officers were appointed by the Governor and took the oath of office July 5, 1915:

John McNish, County Commissioner
James Kesgard, County Commissioner
W. A. Talley, County Commissioner; Sam Coughton had been appointed but died soon after and Talley was chosen to fill the office.
David McGowen, Assessor
J. P. Reed, County Attorney
R. B. Wilson, Auditor
David Murray, County Treasurer
Bessie Van Horton, County Supt.
A. O. Sutton, Probate Judge
David Nichols, Sheriff
Elmer Forshay, surveyor


SOURCE: Photo collage at Gem County Museum, 501 E 1st Street, Emmett ID 83617

Copyright © 2009 - Sharon McConnel. All Rights Reserved.

The IDGenWeb Project is a genealogical and resource collection for the state of Idaho and its counties. The state and counties has many volunteers who are dedicated to promoting free genealogical and research resources from the state's rich ancestral history.