City of Emmett
- Emmett City Hall
501 E Main Street, Emmett, ID 83617
- Emmett Public Library
275 S Hayes, Emmett, ID 83617
City Hall has a card file of all the burials, as well as the cemetery book, for Emmett-Riverside Cemetery. The sexton at the cemetery has the same info. City Hall is open from 8-5. The sexton is at the cemetery from 8:30-4:40, and takes his lunch from 12-12:30. Within a few months City Hall hopes to have their cemetery records on-line.
The library has microfilm of all of the newspapers published in the Emmett Valley since 1893. Its holdings also include many local histories, journals, manuscripts, and several old histories. Edith Scott, and others, compiled all of the obituaries from the local newspapers, indexed them and bound her indexed work into three volumes. The fourth and fifth volumes have also been published. Gem County Historical Society volunteers are keeping Scott's obituary book current.
- Gem County Clerk
415 E Main, Emmett, ID 83617
Fax: (208) 365-7795
- Gem County Historical Preservation Commission
c/o County Clerk's Office, 415 E. Main Street, Emmett, ID 83617
- County Coroner
228 E Main St, Emmett, ID 83617
- Gem County District Magistrate Court
415 E Main, Emmett, ID 83617
Gem County Museum & Historical Society
- Gem County Historical Society and Museum
501 E 1st Street, Emmett ID 83617
(208) 365-9530 or (208) 365-4340 for appointment
email: Gem County Museum
hours: Wednesday through Saturday 1-5, & by appointment.
Their collection includes a listing of those buried in Emmett cemetery and the three-volume local obituary collection compiled by Edith Scott and others, plus up-dated volumes. Their gift shop includes many titles of local interest.
Sponsors annual "River Through Time" enactor event. See their site for details.
Emmett Irrigation District
222 E. Park Street, Emmett, ID 83617
Emmett Irrigation District office has an extensive photographic collection of local canal building. The fall of 2010, Emmett Irrigation published The First 100 Years, History of Emmett Irrigation District, 1910-2010 compiled and written by Carla R. Standley. It is available at the district office.
Family History Center
980 W Central Road, Emmett, ID 83617
(entrance on west side of building)
T, W, Th, S 9:00am-12:00
Tu & W eves: 6:30 - 9:00pm
The Family History Center's collection includes the three-volume local obituary collection compiled by Edith Scott and others; also, mortuary records from Potter's Funeral Home on microfilm (1910-1956, some to 1983).
There are several premium subscription genealogical websites accessible at the FHC including -
Ola Ladies Club
2007 Idaho Historic Preservation Council, Orchid Award Recipient for Heritage Stewardship, "For the preservation and protection of the historic buildings of Ola."
Sponsors the annual Ola Reunion picnic, first Sunday after Labor Day. See Ola Community Newsletter
Sweet Syringa Club
Located in downtown Sweet, The Syringa Club has an extensive photographic collection of Sweet history.
Sweet-Montour Cemetery District
The Messenger Index
120 N Washington Ave, Emmett, ID 83617
Updated July 2017
Copyright © 2009 - Sharon McConnel. All Rights Reserved.